Five Minute Friday (and Reasons to Praise – Day 24): Dare

GO

I cannot think of dare or daring and not think of courage or of fear, because daring involves doing something that many people are afraid to do. Or doing something that I am afraid to do usually. Then it does not matter that others do whatever “it” is without fear.

The dares that matter most, I believe in this moment, are those personal dares that stretch me beyond what I have done with ease, the so familiar “comfort zone.” It is when I need the reminder, “God has not given me a spirit of fear, but of power, and of love and of sound mind.” And the reminder, “I am with you always.”

The dares that matter are those that require me to have sufficient courage to try (we are not even talking succeed). The courage to try, knowing that I could and will likely fail.

Daring to speak truth when the lie is easier, and does not hold the possibility of rejection. Admitting a lie instead of covering it up. To dare, is to have courage. To dare is to confront and there are few words more scary than confront is to the people pleaser.

STOP

Father, I thank You that with Your enabling, I can dare, that is have sufficient courage to face the unfamiliar, even the unknown, and to be who I truly am.

This post is number 24 in the series Reasons to Praise. Linking up with Kate Motaung for 31 Days of Five Minute Free Writes and Five Minute Friday.

Five Minute Friday

10 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday (and Reasons to Praise – Day 24): Dare

  1. Isn’t it interesting that sometimes, we have to dare to be good. I somehow always thought that should be the easy thing to do. Turns out, it is often the most difficult. Thanks for your words today.

    1. Thanks for taking the time to comment. I love the quote, “Courage is not the absence of fear, but rather the judgment that something is more important than fear.”

  2. I stumbled on your blog through Five Minute Friday and am so very thankful I did. Your encouragement to dare to speak the truth is a timely reminder as I pray through how to approach a dear friendship. I’ve been reading through your other posts in this series (when I should be going to bed!) and have been blessed. Thank you for taking the time to share.

    1. Erin, Your words are very encouraging. Thanks for reading and taking time to comment. I pray with you that God will give you the words you need and guide the timing of the conversation or series of conversations. Blessings.

  3. Great post here! Really loved these words particularly – “The dares that matter most, I believe in this moment, are those personal dares that stretch me beyond what I have done with ease, the so familiar “comfort zone.” It is when I need the reminder, “God has not given me a spirit of fear, but of power, and of love and of sound mind.” And the reminder, “I am with you always.””

    Also made me think of one of my favorite reads in the past year – “Daring Greatly” by Brene Brown. She speaks about courage as doing what’s right/true in the midst of fear.

Leave a Reply

