Reasons to Praise: Day 23 – Look

GO

I look multiple times a day, that is, I turn or direct my eyes in a particular direction. Sometimes the look is a glance, brief or hurried. Sometimes the look is a stare, with eyes wide open. Sometimes, when I am angry, the look is a glare. Fierce. Of the if-looks-could-kill-you-would-be-dead type. At other times, the look is a stare triggered by disbelief, “I cannot believe what I am seeing. Seriously? You are in the store in your pajamas?”-look; followed by conviction because I am shown that I am being judgmental. The look can also be a peer, when I am trying to see something but doing so is difficult.

So I can look, glance, glare, stare, peer, but how often do I see? That is, truly notice or become aware of what I have turned my eyes toward?

STOP

Father, I do not just want to look at You, turn my eyes in Your direction. I want to see You because what I see transforms me. Help me to see You. Help me see as You see.

2Co3.18

Photo Credit

This post is number 23 of the series, “Reasons to Praise.” Joining Kate Motaung for 31 days of Five Minute Free Writes.

Leave a Reply

