31 Days of Five Minute Writes

Reasons to Praise: Day 22 – Expect

GO

Expect – “to anticipate or look forward to the coming or occurrence of; to look forward”

And I wonder

What do I expect …

of myself …

of the world …

of those I love …

And above all else … of my Father?

I recall saying to an intimate once, “Have you noticed that I no longer expect anything of you?”

But on reflecting on that statement now, I realize that I had not given up on expecting

It was that I no longer expected the good, or the decent, or a change

It was a way to protect myself from disappointment

But living from a place of self-protection

Adapting a defensive posture in the world is oh so very limiting

Oh so constricting

Even imprisioning

Yes, disappointment hurts

But what is grace for

If not for the hurts and disappointments of life?

I have good reason to have good expectations

Because my Father promises to always be present, up close and personal

To work all things together for my good

He assures me that His plans for me are good

He can help me to have proper expectations of others

And look to Him to be all that no human can be

expect

Photo Credit

STOP

Father, I praise You for Your faithfulness. Thank You that You never misrepresent Yourself. You are who You say You are and You will do what You say You will do. Help me not to expect others to be who only You can be to me.

This post is number 22 in the series, “Reasons to Praise.” Joining Kate Motaung for 31 days of Five Minute Free Writes.

Leave a Reply

