GO

Some have claimed that the command, “Do not fear,” or variations of the statement appear 365 times in the Bible, the equivalent of one for each day of the year. Others dispute this claim. There is also the claim that , “Fear not,” is the most repeated command in the Bible.

I do not know if either claim is true. I come down on the side of one writer who states, the fact that God is the One who is telling us do not fear, should make multiple repetitions unnecessary.. Once should be enough. I do appreciate, however, that our Father is compassionate enough to tell us not to fear, multiple times.

Sometimes, I have wondered, “How can I not be afraid in this situation? Fear seems like a rational response.” Truth is, however, a constant sate of fear is not a place where I want to reside.* Through David and Isaiah, I believe God provides an antidote: “Whenever I am afraid, I will trust in You” (Psalm 56:3) and “I will trust and not be afraid” (Isaiah 12:2).*

I am thankful that He does not simply say, “Do not fear.” He is gracious enough to give reasons not to fear. The one I appreciate the most is, “I am with you.” That is the only reason I need in every situation that can trigger fear.

STOP

Father, thank You that You are with me always and as a result, I have no reason to fear anything.

Click here for a link to Bible verses about fear.

Below are two of my favorite verses.

fear notPhoto Credit

Isaiah-41-10Photo Credit

This post is number 20 in the series, “Reasons to Praise.” Joining Kate Motaung for 31 days of Five Minute Free Writes.

*Edited

Leave a Reply

