Reasons to Praise: Day 8 – Say

Say 2

“To everything there is a season, and a time for every purpose under heaven”

King Solomon admonishes

Including a time to be silent and a time to speak

Problem is, I cannot always distinguish accurately between the times

And speak when I should be silent

And am mute when I should speak up

But that is not the only problems I have with speaking

Sometimes I truly do not know what to say

And say the wrong thing

Or for fear of saying the wrong thing, I say nothing

But there is a priceless guideline I drew from Hebrew 13:5-6

Speak based on what He said

He has said, so we say

How amazing and liberating it is

That I can say what He says

Following this guideline, I can have the opportunity to shed His light

Bring His comfort into a situation

In ways that words based on my opinion or perception never can

Prayer: Father, thank You for Your written Word. You tell us that our mouth speaks what our heart is full of. Thank You that we can choose to fill our hearts with Your Word so that Your Word can guide our speech.

This post is number 8 in the series, “Reasons to Praise.” Joining Kate Motaung for 31 Days of Five Minute Free Writes.

Leave a Reply

