Reasons to Praise: Day 1 – Move

Move

Sometimes You tell me to stand still when everything in me wants to move

Impatient

Seeing stillness as a waste of time

On other occasions, You tell me to move

And I want to remain exactly where I am

In this safe, comfortable place

Okay, the place I inhabit may not always be comfortable

But is familiar

Regardless of Your command

(Command. Why do I not recognize it always as such, preferring to see it as a point of debate? Subject to my input and limited perspective? When have You ever pointed me in the wrong direction? When have You ever sent me on a journey without You?)

Regardless of whether You are telling me to move or to stand still

You give me the power to obey

You give me the power to obey

And not only that, to be who I truly am

And being is more important that all self-driven, restless activity

This is a reason to praise.

This is Day 1 of the series Reasons to Praise. Linking up with Kate Motaung for 31 Days of Five Minute Free Writes.

Photo Credit

Leave a Reply

