Linking up with Kate Moutang and friends for Five Minute Friday. The prompt is “Whisper.”

 Created with Nokia Smart CamGo.

Little girls and friends of all ages

Whispering secrets meant only for the trusted ones

Sometimes the attempts I over hear make me smile

Knowing that they were not meant to be heard

And thinking of how mortified those who were whispering would be

Your secret is safe with me, I promise.

We all have whispered at some point in our lives and according to C. S. Lewis in his book, The Problem of Pain, so does the One Who is the Word and spoke the worlds into existence. Lewis notes, “God whispers in our pleasures …but shouts in our pains.” Interesting thought.

One explanation could be that we pay more attention to Him, tend to seek Him more when we are hurting, so the effect is like that of a shout.

What do you think?*

Stop

* Please share your thoughts on the idea that God whispers to us in our pleasures and shouts in our pain. See the entire quote here.

 

 

6 thoughts on “

  1. So cool, E. I wrote today on how faith – how God’s presence, essentially, is to me a whisper. In both pain and pleasure, but in my experience, louder in pain – maybe, as you said, it’s that “the effect is louder,” even if the voice isn’t necessarily. It’s an interesting thought, what C.S. Lewis poses. I enjoyed your musings today. Thank you 🙂

  2. Yes, I think the Lewis quote is true, at least for me it is. I tend to be self absorbed when enjoying the pleasures and blessings of life, but when things are difficult I need God so desperately. The pain sends us running to the great Physician.

    I found your blog on Five Minute Friday. I’m amazed at how much and how well you’ve written in only five minutes.

    1. “The pain sends us running to the great Physician.” So true, Constance. Over various seasons of life, I have had reason to thank Him for hard times, after the pain has lessened and I reflect on how He has used those difficult times for good. Thanks for visiting and for your words of encouragement.

  3. Yep, I think when we are in pain we tend to listen a little harder for His whispers. When we are happy, we get involved in everything going on around us. At least I do. The noise of the world can drown out the whisper of His love if we are not careful.

Leave a Reply

