Five Minute Friday: Reach

Joining Kate Motaung and an amazing group who write brave for Five Minute Friday. The prompt is “Reach.”

“Reach,” the act of trying to take hold of something. An act that can involve stretching beyond what is comfortable.

I think of this variation of reach and I think of the Apostle Paul, who spoke these words, “I keep trying to reach [pursuing; chasing] the goal and get the prize for which God called me to the life above [heavenward; upward] through [or in] Christ Jesus” (Philippians 3:14).

It was a constant effort on his part. Required commitment. Perseverance. An,”I will not quit mindset,” regardless of the obstacles. And, boy, did he face some. Shipwrecks. Imprisonment. Attempts on his life. Whippings. But still he kept reaching. What am I reaching for with that level of commitment?

I think of another meaning of reach, that is, to arrive at a destination, to accomplish a goal. And I also think of the Apostle Paul. At the end of his life, he was able to make this statement. “I have done my best in the race, I have run the full distance, and I have kept the faith” (2 Timothy 4:7).

I want to be able to say the same. Don’t you?

2 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Reach

Leave a Reply

