Five Minute Friday: Begin

Linking up with Lisa-Jo Baker and friends for Five Minute Friday (the last on her blog. Thanks Lisa-Jo creating this community). The prompt is “Begin.”

It seems that the past 36 months or so have been chock-full of endings. The death of two siblings. The end of a relationship. Even today, I said goodbye to a co-worker who has been a wonderful colleague and a source of inspiration for over ten years.

Still, as I noted the prompt for today, I was reminded that the One Who stood with me through all the goodbyes and the endings, daily invites me, moment to moment issues the invitation to begin again, in Him.

He tells me that He knows all and sees all and knows that goodbyes hurt but they are often necessary. Even when I do not recognize this truth in the moment and perhaps will not on this side of the eternity. That every goodbye is the door to a new beginning. To an “after this” whatever the “this” was made of. He is the one constant and is both the Alpha and the Omega for all times and seasons.

Five Minute Friday“>

6 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Begin

  1. Dear E. I’m your neighbor today with FMF, and I don’t think it’s a coincidence that we both speak of grief and death, endings and beginnings, today in our posts. I’m so sorry for the losses you have faced these past 36 months. Truly, for the pain. And for the brave hope and light carried in your words here, I say, “Glory, friend.” Thankful with you for the Constant One.

  2. Hi E, I’m also here via FMF. I’m so sorry for your loss and grief, but thank you for sharing about them in such a beautiful way. Your words reminded me of a quote that I heard recently and loved:

    “…Is it any wonder that whenever we face the bitter endings of life, they seem unacceptable to us? There seems to be something inside of us that resists endings. Why is this? Because we are made of the stuff of eternity. We are eternal beings, children of the Almighty God, whose name is Endless and who promises eternal blessings without number. Endings are not our destiny. The more we learn about the gospel of Jesus Christ, the more we realize that endings here in mortality are not endings at all. They are merely interruptions—temporary pauses that one day will seem small compared to the eternal joy awaiting the faithful. How grateful I am to my Heavenly Father that in His plan there are no true endings, only everlasting beginnings.”
    https://www.lds.org/general-conference/2014/04/grateful-in-any-circumstances?lang=eng

    Keep writing,
    Holly

Leave a Reply

