Tagged

I was sitting at a long table alone, enjoying the free breakfast (I am talking a real breakfast not that continental stuff), that was included in the cost of my hotel room, when a lady approached. She had plates in both hands and asked, “Can you sit anywhere?” I said, “Yes,” with a smile and motioned her to a chair. She was about to sit when a male walked up to her and they had a brief discussion about their seating options. They agreed to move to a smaller table across the room to him and, as they were about to move away, he said, “But we will leave this sister alone.” He turned to me and partially asked and partially stated, “You are not a sister.” Without hesitation, I replied, “Yes, I am,” responding in that moment with my faith in mind. He responded, “You are not wearing a tag,” referring I assumed to the tags he and most of the other persons in the dining area were wearing. (I learned later that they were delegates attending an international conference of their religious denomination).

His statement triggered a stream of thought regarding what marks, identifies, tags someone as a Christian to other people. Sometimes it is our behavior: what we do not do and unfortunately, sometimes behaviors that are understandably defined as “strange.” For others, it is clothing, a super sized Bible, or a cross – all external trappings; however, the Christ, for Whom we are named and into Whose image the Father is shaping us, provides a different tag: “Your love for one another will prove to the world that you are my disciples” (John 13:35, New Living Translation). Tagged as His by the love we have for one another. Umm.

Leave a Reply

