Five Minute Friday: Lost

Five Minute Friday

Linking up with Lisa-Jo Baker and friends for Five Minute Friday (http://lisajobaker.com/five-minute-friday/ ).  Five Minute Friday is an invitation by Lisa-Jo “to throw caution to the wind and just write without worrying if it’s just right” and then share what you wrote. Today’s prompt is “Lost.”

Years ago I watched a documentary about the “Lost boys of Sudan.”  It was narrated by Tom Brokaw, I believe, and told the stories of thousands of boys who were orphaned or misplaced.

I will never forget the words of one young man; he appeared to be about 14 or 15 years old. I cannot remember what Tom Brokaw asked him but I will never forget his response, “I may have been lost to others but I was never lost to God. He always knew where I was.”  Even now, the memory of his words brings tears to my eyes.

How astonishing. How deeply moving. A young man who had no family members near, knew deep in his spirit, that God had not lost track of him. What a lesson that I want ingrained, stamped in my spirit. He always knows where I am. I am never lost to him. “He knows the way that I take,” Job said. David also stated, “He knows when I sit and when I rise.” Thank you, Father.

12 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Lost

  1. Hi E – I am a near neighbor at FMF, I love what you shared today, its true and encouraging – we are never lost to Him, how I love this King of ours! Many Blessings Aliyah (setapartwarrior.blogspot.com)

  2. I am lifted by your retelling of the words of the boy from the Sudan. We have one if them working alongside my husband in our town. He has such a strong spirit. Thank-you for your message.

  3. Visiting from FMF – again – because I look for you now! Your words always speak to me. Oh, how grateful I am that we are never really lost. That He is there with us every step. And even when the journey is hard, He is there. Your words are encouraging and powerful. Thanks for sharing.

    1. I appreciate you visiting again. 🙂 Indeed, it is such a comfort to know, as you stated, “He is there with us every step.” Your comments are also encouraging to me. E

  4. Hello, I am coming over from Five Minute Friday! I enjoyed your post, and it is so true! We are never alone, especially when we bear hard times, we need that reminder. A great post to remember. I’ll be back for more visits and maybe see you again on fmf! Dazee from http://www.gr8tfull.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

