Five Minute Friday: Close

Linking up with Lisa Jo Baker and friends for Five Minute Friday, a day late. The prompt is “Close.”

“Close”
In this time of grief
When every ounce of joy seems to have leaked out of my soul
And there is no running here
Not even a brisk walk
Just steps that seem heavy and are trudging
When there is a weariness down deep
And there is laughter but only the shallow kind
When I am inclined not to praise
Any most of all, You seem so far away
I remember Your words
You are close to those whose are broken hearted
Living within me by Your Spirit
Within
I do not have to reach out
Just within
And although I may not feel You near
You are right here
Holding me close
Breathing life into me
Healing into my wounded places
Giving me strength
Giving me comfort
Giving me grace
In this time of grief
When every ounce of joy seems to have leaked out of my soul
And there is no running here
Not even a brisk walk
And my steps are heavy
And I do not feel you near
You are close
Close
Closer than anyone else can be

Five Minute Friday“></

4 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Close

  1. Oh my goodness did I need this. You have put my thoughts into words so incredibly beautifully. One of the goals of FMF is to encourage the writer before you – but wow – did you encourage me. And remind me of deep spiritual truths that I need to cling too. Your writing is powerful and lovely. Thank you so, so much for sharing. Blessings to you and yours.

Leave a Reply

