When we were enemies: Musings on Romans 5:10

Enemy:*

1. a person who feels hatred for, fosters harmful designs against, or engages in antagonistic activities against another; an adversary or opponent.

2. a hostile nation or state.

3. a citizen of such a state.

4. persons, nations, etc., that are hostile to one another: Let’s make up and stop being enemies.

5. the Enemy, the Devil; Satan.

6. belonging to a hostile power or to any of its nationals: enemy property

“For if when we were enemies we were reconciled to God through the death of His Son, much more, having been reconciled, we shall be saved by His life” (Romans 5:10).

I read the verse above and will admit to being startled by the fact that at one time, I was an enemy of God.  I could do nothing else but sit with this truth for a while.

I was His enemy. Deserving of His wrath. Colossians 1:21-22 further describes my past state and what God did for me. “And you, who once were alienated and enemies in your mind by wicked works, yet now He has reconciled  in the body of His flesh through death, to present you holy, and blameless, and above reproach in His sight” (emphasis added). Mind boggling, knee bending truth. What incomprehensible cost, my redemption, His act of reconciling me to Himself.

I was once His enemy but I am now His beloved child, “above reproach in His sight.”  Adonai. Adonai. Abba. My heart echoes the words of Isaac Watts in the classic hymn, “When I survey the wondrous cross”**:

Were the whole realm of nature mine,
That were a present far too small;
Love so amazing, so divine,
Demands my soul, my life, my all

 

* http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/Enemies

** http://library.timelesstruths.org/music/When_I_Survey_the_Wondrous_Cross/

Leave a Reply

