Five Minute Friday: Willing

Linking up with Lisa Jo Baker and friends for Five Minute Friday. The prompt is “Willing.”

“Willing.”

Am I willing? For sure.

When it is something I want to do.

When it is somewhere I want to be.

When what is required of me takes the skills I know I possess.

 Of course I am willing.

 

But when what I sense You are calling me to is new

Or will cause discomfort

Stretch me beyond my comfort zone

Possibly place me on the receiving end of criticism or disapproval

Or requires me to face uncertainty

I am no longer sure of my willingness

 

I know this reservation is fear based

And I want to say “Yes,” to You.

To whatever and whenever and for whoever

And every time

 

Give me a willing heart

Strengthen my shaky knees

Help my trust to be constant and true

Like David, let me trust You  and not be afraid

Or, when I am afraid, let me trust You

 

It is not that we are competent in ourselves, Paul said,

To see anything as coming from ourselves

Our competence comes from You

And I do have Your promise to be with me always

And You are omnipresent.

 

Willing?

Yes.

Let me be.

Five Minute Friday

2 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Willing

Leave a Reply

