Five Minute Friday: Choose

Linking up with Lisa Jo Baker and friends for Five Minute Friday. The prompt is “Choose.”

The King James Version of the Bible is the version that I cut my spiritual teeth on and many of the passages of Scripture I memorized are still in that language. So it is perhaps no surprise that the verse that came to mind in response to the prompt, “Choose,” was, “Choose ye this day, who you will serve.” 

The words were clear and I shied away some from a topic that seems heavy. But the reality is every day I am faced with the outcome of choices I make. 

Every one is a choice between serving Him or not serving Him.  That is the reality of our lives even when the choice seems simple because there is a motive behind the choice. One is, am I doing this for myself, because it is what pleases me? And what pleases me may not be appropriate at the time.  And if I am focused on what pleases me, it is likely that I am thinking less about what pleases Him. 

I think also of the verse that instructs me to delight in Him and He will give me the desires of my heart. He helps me desire what pleases Him and when His pleasure is my focus, my choices will ultimately be those that are best for me.

<a href="Five Minute Friday“>

4 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Choose

Leave a Reply

