Musings on 2 Corinthians 2:14

“Now thanks be to God, Who always leads us in triumph in Christ, and through us diffuse the fragrance of His knowledge in every place” (NKJV).

Given that God “always leads us in triumph in Christ,” (italics added), does this mean that when I experience defeat, it is because I have allowed someone else to lead me or let my own desires, understanding, fears, etc. guide me, instead of following His leading?  Or, when I know I have obeyed Him but I still experienced defeat, could it be that what seems like defeat to me, is not so viewed from His all knowing perspective?

Then there is the assurance and consolation of Romans 8:28 and the-set-me-upon-my-feet-again-word of Romans 8:35-37.

Who shall separate us from the love of Christ? Shall tribulation, or distress, or persecution, or famine, or nakedness, or peril, or sword? As it is written: ‘For Your sake we are killed all day long; We are accounted as sheep for the slaughter.’ Yet in all these things we are more than conquerors through Him who loved us” (italics added).

“Yet in all these things…” whatever currently constitutes our “all these things,”  we have our Father’s declaration that “we are more than conquerors through Him Who loved us.”

One more thing, “For whatever is born of God overcomes the world…” (1John 5:4-5, NKJV) and “Little children, you belong to God and have overcome them, because the One Who is in you is greater than the one who is in the world” (1 John 4:4, ISV).

Remember our brother Gideon? He was hiding in a wine press threshing wheat when the messenger of God called him, “A mighty man of valor” (Judges 6:12, ESV). It is our Father’s perspective that matters, not our own.  I say we start calling ourselves what He calls us, and develop the habit of saying whatever He says about our “these things.”

 

 

NKJV – New King James Version; ISV – International Standard Version; ESV – English Standard Version

 

Leave a Reply

