Five Minute Friday: See

Thinking of the miracles Jesus performed that involved Him making blind people see.

Thinking too of the ways in which those people came into contact with Him.

And of one man in particular, referred to in at least one of the Gospels as Bartimaeus.

Thinking of the Living Bible’s translation and how it is noted that he heard Jesus was passing by and cried out to Him, repeatedly, in spite of the crowd telling him to be quiet

“Son of David, have mercy on me.”

Thinking of how much I too need His mercy every day.

When Jesus asked him what he wanted, the Living Bible, notes that he “pleaded” with Him,

“I want to see.”

And Jesus healed Him.

Physical blindness is easy to recognize.

Spiritual blindness, less so.

Jesus heals both and I am thankful.

I cry out like the blind man and like David

“Open my eyes that I may see.”

Five Minute Friday

10 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: See

  1. I love that he cried out and was clear with what he wanted. Sometimes I cry out and perhaps am not as clear as I should be. Your post has me thinking about sight…physical and spiritual and expressing myself clearly so others “see” my need. Missed you around here. Happy New Year!

    • Lisha, I appreciate your visit and words much. May you and your family prosper, according to His definition of prosperity, in every way in 2014. Blessings. Esther

  2. i popped in because i noticed we have the same last name. so glad i did. blinded hearts are much more debilitating than unseeing eyes… aren’t they? such truth shared here today. blessings.

  3. Dear Mrs Wright
    Yes, may our eyes be clear to see the glory of God and when we do, may our hearts hunger and thirst to see more and more of the beauty of our Beloved Lord Jesus!
    Blessings XX
    Mia

Leave a Reply

