“Like a weaned child with his mother … is my soul”

Surely I have calmed and quieted my soul; like a weaned child with his mother, like a weaned child is my soul within me [ceased from fretting]” (Psalm 131:2; italics added).*

I read this verse and thought of the hustle and bustle and stress that too often characterize the Christmas season, even for us called by His name. We who sometimes criticize and at other times feel compassion for those who have not yet grasped the amazing truth. The amazing truth that God so loved the world that He give His only begotten Son to redeem us. The truth that, as Lisa Jo Baker noted recently, “Christmas makes no sense outside the context of Easter. Because it was a ransom that was delivered on a dark night under a stark, white star all those years ago.”

I read the verse and wondered, “How do I calm and quiet my soul?” I also wondered, “What caused or is causing the unrest and turmoil within, in the first place? What was I experiencing through my senses? Sight (cruel acts, poverty, abuse, apathy)? Touch (pain, cold)? Smell (ashes)? Taste (bitterness)? Hearing (bad news, words of defeat)?”

I am thinking that a part of the process of calming and quieting my soul involves turning my focus away from the things that disturbed and/or disturb me, to Him Who is my peace. The Prince of Peace. The process involves reminding myself of truths such as that stated in Isaiah 9:6-7:

For unto us a Child is born,
Unto us a Son is given;
And the government will be upon His shoulder.
And His name will be called
Wonderful, Counselor, Mighty God,
Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace.
Of the increase of His government and peace
There will be no end,
Upon the throne of David and over His kingdom,
To order it and establish it with judgment and justice
From that time forward, even forever.
The zeal of the Lord of hosts will perform this. **

I will also calm and quiet my soul by speaking truth to my soul, by giving instructions to my soul, and talking to my Father about the condition of my soul, as demonstrated in Psalms 42:5-6: Why are you cast down, O my soul? And why are you so disquieted within me? Hope in God, for I shall yet praise Him for the help of His countenance. O my God, my soul is cast down within me; Therefore I will remember You…”

May this verse be our lived experience this Christmas season. “Surely I have calmed and quieted my soul; like a weaned child with his mother, like a weaned child is my soul within me [ceased from fretting]” (Psalm 131:2).*

*Amplified Bible

** New King James Version

2 thoughts on ““Like a weaned child with his mother … is my soul”

  1. Dear Mrs Wright
    I find that every moment I take my eyes off Jesus and look at the world around us being slowly destroyed through sin, my heart starts huffing and puffing within me. But, oh, that moment when you realize you are drowning you can only call out and Jesus grabs your hand and walk with you to safety and a quiet heart.
    Blessings XX
    Mia

Leave a Reply

