Grace

I read the writing prompt, “Grace” and my immediate response was, “Oh, no!”  A strange response I know to something I need and receive every day. I suspect my response may have been due to a sense of feeling completely inadequate to write about a topic so humongous. A theologian I am not in any meaning of the word.

Then the refrain from a hymn I learned as a child came to mind.

Grace, grace, God’s grace

Grace that can pardon and cleanse within

Grace, grace God’s grace

Grace that is greater than all my sin

Ah. There you have it. I may not be able to write about all that grace means from a theological view point but I know what it is to receive it. Thinking also of the fact that God’s grace is greater too than all my weaknesses, and all that seeks to overwhelm me, and all that seems insurmountable, and all that seems unforgivable, and undoable.

I knew a girl once whose name was Grace and I wonder if her name has special meaning to her.

I know “Graced” definitely applies to me.  Unlike her, Grace is not my name but it is definitely part of my daily experience and I am thankful. Thankful. Thankful.

I never did submit what I wrote to the writing community I join many Fridays but decided to post it here with revisions. Grace in abundance to you.

Leave a Reply

