Five Minute Friday: Laundry

I read the prompt, “Laundry,” and for a minute thought of skipping this week’s opportunity to write, but I decided to go ahead and see what emerges.

“Laundry”… brings thoughts of dirty clothes that are sometimes smelly, and for those who live alone, the knowledge that the state of the clothing, linen, etc., are “the work of my hands.”

For those who live with spouses, children, and others who have been entrusted to their care, there is the added awareness that the state of that which is piled up in baskets and maybe overflowing on the floor nearby, are the handiwork of those we love.

Sometimes, laundry can seem like a mountain, a daunting one at that.  I know there are people who enjoy doing laundry, but I am not a member of that tribe. Laundry is a “have to” not an “I get to.”

Most times I just put on my “BGPs” and get it done but I wonder, even as I write, if there is another approach to this task.

I am learning that gratitude can change me and bring joy into even the most mundane of activities. Maybe some music as I wash, dry, and fold? Maybe a thank You or two for the clean water? Umm. That’s a thought.

Linking up with Lisa-Jo Baker and friends for FMF.

Five Minute Friday

4 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Laundry

  1. I know how you feel about laundry because that is how I feel about ironing 🙂 I guess we each have our chore that we would avoid if we could. One thing that I have found to be such a help to change my attitude towards my chore is asking myself this: What if I never had the chance to wash these clothes again or iron those shirts again for him? Realizing the preciousness of the life that the clothes represent have helped me to be grateful to do the chore. I was your neighbor this morning at 5 Minute Fri.
    Have a wonderful weekend!
    Joanne

  2. I had the same thoughts about the laundry prompt too. But usually, it’s good for me to practice it and see what comes. Seems it was for you too. When gratitude is the result it’s always good!

Leave a Reply

