Imperfect Prose Link-up: What are you wearing today?

wire-closet-organizer-300x284[1]

There are mornings when I change outfits or parts of an outfit several times because something was just not working. Of course this process often eats into my time and I find myself heading out the door, breakfast in hand, hoping for a few minutes before my first appointment to eat this “most important meal of the day.”

I have the freedom to choose what I wear, even if it is an unsuitable choice such as a thin cotton shirt in the dead of winter. The only instruction I have from my Father regarding these external garments are to be modest.

There are, however, other types of clothing about which He is very specific and His expectations clear.  Of course, I still have the freedom to choose whether or not to wear them, but the consequences are more detrimental to my wellbeing than the raised eyebrows of a fashionista when I commit a fashion faux pas.

Hear His instructions in Colossians 3:12 and 14 – “Therefore, as God’s chosen people, holy and dearly loved, clothe yourselves with compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness and patience. And over all these virtues put on love, which binds them all together in perfect unity.”* I just love how, before He tells us what to wear, He first tells us who we are: Chosen. Holy. Dearly Loved.  I do believe knowing who we truly are does influence the choices we make.

I am also thinking that we are the first beneficiaries of the clothing we wear. So it can help me to ask, “When I clothe myself with compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness and patience, am I being compassionate, kind, humble, gentle, and patient with myself? Or do I somehow believe these “articles of clothing” are only to benefit others?”  Umm.

He also tells us what “clothing” we need to take off – “But now you must also rid yourselves of all such things as these: anger, rage, malice, slander, and filthy language from your lips.  Do not lie to each other, since you have taken off your old self with its practices” (Colossians 3:8-9*)

With the exception of those of us with a disability which impairs the skills we need to dress ourselves, most of us do so with little or no effort. But to don and remove the types of clothing mentioned in Colossians 3: 8-9, 12, 14, we need and, thankfully, have our Father’s help.

What are you wearing today?

* New International Version

Linking-up with Emily for Imperfect Prose http://www.emilywierenga.com/

Image from http://portableclosets.us/wire-closet-organizers

2 thoughts on “Imperfect Prose Link-up: What are you wearing today?

    1. Thanks for stopping by Jennifer. It is wonderfully healing, is it not, that in a world full of rejection and changing standards for acceptance, we are chosen by the Most High and dearly loved. Blessings to you.

Leave a Reply

