Imperfect Prose: Quite enough…

Sandi Patty sings a hauntingly beautiful rendition of the hymn, “In this very room.”  The lyrics are:

In this very room there’s quite enough love for one like me,
And in this very room there’s quite enough joy for one like me,
And there’s quite enough hope and quite enough power to chase away any gloom,
For Jesus, Lord Jesus … is in this very room.

And in this very room there’s quite enough love for all of us,
And in this very room there’s quite enough joy for all of us,
And there’s quite enough hope and quite enough power to chase away any gloom,
For Jesus, Lord Jesus … is in this very room.

In this very room there’s quite enough love for all the world,
And in this very room there’s quite enough joy for all the world,
And there’s quite enough hope and quite enough power to chase away any gloom,
For Jesus, Lord Jesus … is in this very room.

The power and beauty of the lyrics move me to tears when I read it and when it hear it. The idea that right where I am, because Jesus is present with me, there is enough love, enough joy, enough hope, enough power “to chase away any gloom.” And I would add, to heal any hurt, no matter how deep; to bring wholeness to whatever is shattered, no matter how many and how tiny the pieces that resulted from the shattering. And it is all available for “one like me.”

There is enough for “one like me.” Enough. How often do I operate, as I heard a minister say from “a fear of running out, instead of faith in running over?”

Enough. “For one like me.”  One like me … with my weaknesses, and small mindedness, and petulance, and fears, and longings, and broken dreams, and unspoken desires.

Right now, where I am, there is enough of all that I need, “For Jesus, Lord Jesus … is in this very room.”

Let this truth, sink deep in me, Abba. Let it wash over my parched soul like a refreshing shower. Let it cause me to exhale the breath that I too often am not aware that I am holding.

Right here, right now, there is no scarcity. I breathe deep, drink my full, whisper, “Thank You,” and ask, “Show me one person today with whom I can share this truth.”

Presentation1

Leave a Reply

