Five Minute Friday: Listen

I am not sure I do “listen” well.  Sometimes I am preoccupied with my own thoughts; sometimes I am not sure I want to know what You have to say.  Listen?  Then I will be responsible for what I hear, isn’t that so?  You speak with purpose always.  What is interesting is that I seem to believe listening is only an invitation and not a requirement.  Interesting? No, strange is better.  I do have a choice but to not listen because I do not want to obey or I am scared that You will ask something of me that I do not want to give is crazy.  All the good I have came from You anyway and if You ask me to give it away, it is always because there is good in the giving for me.  Trust building for example.  Developing the discipline of obedience, being another.  And if it is something I am holding on to white-knuckled that You do not want me to have, it is because it is not what is best for me. Listen.  Oh.  I need practice in this process so much.  You are always communicating. Oh, help me listen.  As Beth Moore said once, “Fix my want to,” Father, “fix my want to” and also touch my spiritual ears so that You do not have to shout to get my attention. Your softest whisper will do.

4 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Listen

  1. “I seem to believe listening is only an invitation and not a requirement.”
    “All the good I have came from You anyway and if You ask me to give it away, it is always because there is good in the giving for me”
    These powerful lines spoke to me today.
    Listening as mandatory…what a simple revelation. Good in the giving? this one hurts so good. Thank you for your purposeful heart of truth. Stopped by from Five Minute Friday!

Leave a Reply

